Skip to content

Buying guide

Brother embroidery machines compared

Chosen from what the Amazon listings state, not tested by us. How we pick

Note: This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more

Top picks at a glance

Compare them all
  • Best overall

    PE900 bundle: 5 x 7 inch with thread and stabiliser

    A 5 by 7 inch field is large enough for cushion fronts, tote bags and bigger motifs.

  • Best value

    Innov-is M380D: sews and embroiders, 100 x 100 mm

    One machine sews and embroiders, with 181 sewing stitches and 10 buttonholes listed.

  • Most features

    Innov-is F540E: largest field at 180 x 130 mm

    A 180 by 130 mm field fits larger designs than most beginner combination machines.

Brother sells embroidery in two forms. Combination machines such as the Innov-is M380D sew and embroider, which saves space but usually means a smaller field. Embroidery only machines such as the Innov-is F540E and the PE900 do one job, with larger fields and more fonts. The choice comes down to the largest design you want to stitch, whether you already own a sewing machine, and how you want to move designs from a computer or phone. All three machines here offer wireless connectivity according to their listings, so the real differences are field size, built-in designs, fonts and what comes in the box. This guide compares the three Brother embroidery models in the current collection by type, maximum field, built-in designs, connectivity and weight, using only facts the listings state. The larger Luminaire and Innov-is XP lines are not in this collection, so they are not covered here.

All products compared

The products in detail

No. 1 · Brother

PE900 bundle: 5 x 7 inch with thread and stabiliser

An embroidery only Brother with a 5 by 7 inch hoop area, 193 designs, 13 fonts, wireless design transfer and a 3.7 inch touch screen. This bundle adds thread, needles, bobbins and stabiliser.

In its favour

  • A 5 by 7 inch field is large enough for cushion fronts, tote bags and bigger motifs.
  • Wireless LAN lets you send designs from a computer or mobile device without a USB stick.
  • The bundle includes 80 spools of thread, 100 embroidery needles, pre-wound bobbins and stabiliser.

Good to know

  • It is embroidery only, so you still need a separate sewing machine.
  • The listing does not state the voltage, so confirm it is a UK version.
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link

Listing title: Brother Elite PE900 Large Embroidery Machine with Wireless LAN Bundle ...

No. 2 · Brother

Innov-is M380D: sews and embroiders, 100 x 100 mm

A combination Brother with 200 embroidery designs including 65 Disney designs, 11 fonts, a 100 by 100 mm field and wireless LAN with the Artspira app, plus 181 sewing stitches.

In its favour

  • One machine sews and embroiders, with 181 sewing stitches and 10 buttonholes listed.
  • Wireless LAN and the Artspira app make getting new designs onto the machine simple.
  • Sixty five Disney designs are built in, which suits children's clothes and gifts.

Good to know

  • A 100 by 100 mm field limits you to small motifs and names.
  • At 10.9 kg it is heavy to move between tables.
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link

Listing title: Brother Innovis M380D Sewing and Embroidery Machine

No. 3 · Brother

Innov-is F540E: largest field at 180 x 130 mm

A combination Brother with a large 180 by 130 mm embroidery area, 193 designs, 13 fonts, wireless connectivity and a 3.7 inch colour touch screen. A 3 year manufacturer warranty is listed.

In its favour

  • A 180 by 130 mm field fits larger designs than most beginner combination machines.
  • Wireless connectivity and an advanced needle threading system are listed.
  • A 3 year manufacturer warranty is stated.

Good to know

  • The listing does not state the number of sewing stitches.
  • At 13.6 kg it needs a sturdy permanent table.
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link

Listing title: Brother Innovis F540E Embroidery Sewing Machine

More buying guides: Brands and models

Stitch and Hem chooses every product independently, based on what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission on purchases made through the affiliate links above. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.